Almost Poetic

Misplaced metaphors pt. IV

“All I seem to hear are these walls, reminding me how long I’ve been alone”

  1. These drooping eyelids

The stories they hold

How I can no longer look forever in the eye

I’m ashamed

I’ve promised it to so many people

2. You left metaphors shipwrecked between my ribs

And you wonder why I call people lighthouses

 

3. And every “I love you” is just a misplaced metaphor

Don’t make room on your skin for all these passers-by to leave their mark

 

4. And then we must continue breathing like we aren’t tired from walking around with so many memories

 

5. You deserve forever

From someone who won’t need to cut you in half to touch your heart

Leave a Reply

