Almost Poetic

Not just a metaphor

I’m afraid that if I let you see me, you’ll see nothing but ruins

Old and buried bodies of all the women I could not become

I could not be soft, because love taught me that the softest things are easier to break

And I wanted to be whole

But if you look closely

You’ll see the cracks from all the times love has taught me to mend

I am no longer ashamed of all the ways I’ve had to put myself back together 

I could not be trusting, because love taught me that forever is not a promise written in ink

That life carries a big eraser

And sometimes forever is  not built to withstand the impact

But if you look closely

You’ll see how my skin has perfected saying goodbye

You can trace the footsteps of all those who walked away on the curves on my body

I could not be mother

The only thing my womb has carried are broken dreams

Birthing still born babies made of all the ways I couldn’t become the woman you wanted me to be

And when you look closely

You’ll see that my eyes are broken mirrors

Looking for your reflection in them will bring you seven years of bad luck

Leave a Reply

