Burn After Reading

Dear ex lover 

I haven’t seen you in weeks, and every moment, every memory still feels like it was just yesterday. Seems like it was just yesterday when you smiled at me from across the room. When you held me in your arms, and it felt intentional. Like you meant to hold me and never let me go. But you let me go, and I know that was intentional. I knew you wanted to walk away and never look back, and I never wanted you to look back. Through all that mist in eyes covered by my tears, I never wanted to see your face when the storm cleared. I never wanted to run into your arms when I ran out of ways to keep my heart from missing you.

Leave a Reply

