Almost Poetic

On finding new love

Even if you can trace their goodbyes on the arch of my back

Even if you can feel how heavy I am from their absence when you carry me to bed at night

Look at me like you don’t see how tired my eyes are from all the tears I’ve shed from losing myself so many times

Hold me like I’m not breaking under the weight of all this lonely I’ve been carrying before I met you

Even if you can taste all the ways they couldn’t love me in my kisses

Even if you’re straining to hear my I love you above all my nightmares, above all my screams

Touch me like I’m sacred

Hold me like I’m home

9 thoughts on “On finding new love

Leave a Reply

