Burn After Reading

Dear you

So, here we are again, back in the same place I’ve never wanted to be with you. Back to false hopes and wishful thinking. I had a dream about you last night, about us rather. It felt so real, until I woke up and the loneliness hit me like a tidal wave. Swept me up into a sea of confusion and, I’ve always been a bad swimmer. I don’t know how to go with the flow anymore, it seems I’m always swimming against the tide. We were always swimming against the tide, even when we met, the odds were always not in our favor. Maybe we’ll never have the odds in our favor, and I have no more fight left in me. I have no strength to fight for things that are not meant for me anymore. I’ve walked into too many battlefields before, my scars itch at the sight. And I’ve been running ever since. This is me making peace with how we’ll never be. This is me choosing peace over fighting a losing battle.

Leave a Reply

